Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

10 Restaurants Worth Waiting in Their (Very) Long Lines Franklins #5

i am not an expert by far.  but somehow, i just cannot see kansas city, missouri, as having the best bar b que in the world.  sorry.. i just cannot!

Different regions specialize in certain types of BBQ.  I would love to try their pulled pork.  One of my favorite BBQ sauces is the mustard based sauce from the Carolinas.

The mussel burger sounds really interesting.  

I've waited and tried 4/10 restaurants on this list.  

i am not an expert by far.  but somehow, i just cannot see kansas city, missouri, as having the best bar b que in the world.  sorry.. i just cannot!

We have a family friend who travels the country and writes books on barbeque, he is from Kansas City and developed his expertise in Kansas City.  My grandfather could cook one thing extremely well - slow cooked and smoked pork ribs cooked in a hand dug pit in the ground lined with bricks.  I am partial to Texas barbeque, but I have never had any pork ribs any better or any other kind of ribs for that matter.  My grandfather learned his que in Kansas City.  When I was a teenager, the uncles and the cousins and I took pity on the poor man, so we built him an above ground fire brick lined smoker que pit.  After the weekend when we inagurated that thing, the next weekend I went to visit him and he was in the middle of ripping that above ground pit apart.  I helped him finish and he used those fire brick to line the next ground dug pit.  i think his pork ribs were never better ... now, if truth be told, his briskit sucked ... bless his heart!  Long story short, don't go dissing no Kansas City que!  ;)

Different regions specialize in certain types of BBQ.  I would love to try their pulled pork.  One of my favorite BBQ sauces is the mustard based sauce from the Carolinas.

The mussel burger sounds really interesting.