Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

*****GAME THREAD - #21 TEXAS LONGHORNS vs. UTSA ROADRUNNERS*****


 Share

Recommended Posts

6 hours ago, Eastexhorn said:

QB is just different even if running cannot hit him like a RB or WR.

That isn't the case. A players position has nothing to do with targeting, rather, the determination is made based on the action they are performing. For example, being in the act of catching a pass, kicking the ball or what applies to QB's most often passing the ball or sliding feet first makes you a "defenseless player". The only time it matters if you are a QB is after a change of possession (so that people don't just go hunt the QB after a int)

Targeting comes in 2 forms:

1. Forcible contact anywhere on the body with the crown of the helmet with an indicator of targeting (dropping your head, crouching and exploding up into the head, launching or leaving the feet). In this case it doesn't matter what the other player is doing or if they are defenseless.

2. Forcible contact to the head or neck of a defenseless player with an indicator of targeting. Defenseless players are as listed above. So they player being hit has to be clearly defenseless, the contact has to be to the head or neck and there has to be a indicator of targeting.

In the case of DO, he certainly doesn't meet the first definition since the contact was with the facemask. Based on Sark's post-game comment, the QB was deemed defenseless. I don't see how. Had be been throwing a pass or even standing ready to pass and looking downfield - he may be considered defenseless but as I pointed out, he is pulling the ball down and attempting to scramble. The contact was definitely to the head of the QB so we meet that criteria. I also fail to see any indicator of targeting from DO.

tldr; DO should have his penalty reversed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Hiwood said:

Johnny "Lam" Jones and Marquise Goodwin might have been the fastest to ever wear a Longhorn uniform...they had Olympic speed

Johnny Lam had a legendary 4x400 anchor leg at the state meet in his senior season in high school.

https://www.gosanangelo.com/story/sports/2019/03/15/texas-track-legend-johnny-lam-jones-dies-60-uil-state-meet-2019/3173363002/
 

He was fun to watch when he joined the Horns after winning a gold medal at the ‘76 Montreal Olympics.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Eastexhorn said:

Thanks for long reasons.

But a QB is different can not hit him regardless of position, like a RB or WR

If Bama player had hit Bjian proably nopenality.

By rule no, the QB is no different (except after a turnover). Now, they may be more likely to get the call from the refs but a RB on the run is the same as a QB on the run according to the rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 hours ago, Eastexhorn said:

Thanks for long reasons.

But a QB is different can not hit him regardless of position, like a RB or WR

If Bama player had hit Bjian proably nopenality.

If the Bama player picked Bijan off his feet and drove him straight into the ground with Bijan's shoulder leading he'd probably be called for unnecessary roughness.  No matter what Dallas Turner says, that was a penalty and borderline dirty play.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share


Our Affiliation

USATDP_Logo.png

Quick Links

×
×
  • Create New...